Saving the world ... one dachshund at a time!
P.O. Box 1367 Staunton, VA 24402 -1367 savedoxies@kkidsrescue.org
Doug's Web Page

Dachshund / Mixed (short coat)  : :  Male  : :  Adult  : :  Small


More Pics...

Learn more about the Dachshund.

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

About Doug

  • Status: Adopted!
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Brindle with White
  • Color: Brindle
  • Current Size: 35 Pounds
  • Potential Size: 35 Pounds
  • Current Age: 5 Years 5 Months (best estimate)
  • Grooming Needs: Low
Hello friends! Doug the Dog here! I am a distinguished, middle aged (5 yrs) gentleman (approx 35 lbs) who is single and ready to mingle! My mom is a dachshund mix. She won't tell me who my dad was (apparently she used to be *very popular* at the dog park). My old family moved to VA from out of state but the landlord in their new rental home would not allow pets so I found myself at a shelter. The awesome folks at K Kids took me in and tried me in a few different foster homes and now I'm ready to find my *forever* home!
I really like adult humans. And older offspring of said humans are cool too! I am not a fan of the small offspring. The ones who toddle. And squeal. I do not like those at all. I'm a bit of a speciest and am really not so fond of my own kind either. All that butt sniffing is SO uncivilized. I don't mind other chill dogs who will ignore me and pretend I don't exist. And I find smaller dogs somewhat less irritating than dogs my own size or larger. But I really don't care to socialize. And I definitely don't want to share my things with them. Cats I can handle. But I don't want them near my bed. Or your bed. Or anyone's bed. So unless you've managed to find the one cat on Earth who listens . . I would need to be supervised with any resident cats and kept separate from them when not supervised.
I have decent leash manners and I love walks. But I prefer country walks. Or quiet neighborhood walks. I'm also up for ambling and the occasional stroll. Walking in places where I see lots of dogs makes me anxious and grouchy. I'm not much for self entertaining so while I wouldn't say no to a fenced yard . . I really don't enjoy spending time outside by myself. I'd rather be with my human people doing whatever they're doing. I'm a medium energy guy and would be happy to be someone's foot warmer while they work from home or hang with someone who is retired. I am crate trained and know how to use a doggy door too!
I'm ready to be someone's best buddy. I keep losing foster homes bc I couldn't handle living with other dogs or little kids. And this farm is ok but there are so many dogs here and I don't get to spend very much time with the only human. He's a nice guy but I'd really like to find my very own person or family I don't have to share. Can you help me out?? If you can . . Get in touch with K Kids!!
 
Doug's adoption fee is $275 and he is currently being fostered in Afton, VA.

Other Pictures of Doug (click to see larger version):

Doug Doug Doug Doug
Doug


Last Updated: 2/18/2020 9:24 PM
top | home page | contact | © 2022 KKDR | Design by www.mitchinson.net